The State Council approved 22 more cities to set up pilot zone for cross-border e-commerce.

In the meeting to announce the decision, officials point out that the policy will tilt towards the north east and middle west part of the country. The new policy will see the pilot zone to set up in 22 cities including Beijing, Hohehot, Shenyang, Changchun, Ha’erbin, Nanjing, Nanchang, Wuhan,Changsha, Nanning, Haikou, Guiyang, Kunming, Xi’an, Lanzhou, Xiamen, Tangshan, Wuxi, Weihai, Zhuhai, Dongguan and Yiwu.

In 2015 and 2016, the State Council already approved 13 cities to set up the pilot zone including Tianjin and Hangzhou. The previous setup has yielded positive results including establishing a duplicable system to promote the cross-border e-commerce development in those areas, which helps to enhance the upgrading of import and export trade in those zones.

In a meeting held by the State Council last September, the authority said that the online e-commerce platform and the pilot zones should be better integrated to facilitate the regulation of information sharing, financial service, smart logistics and risk control.

The 22 cities have great development potential and e-commerce environment, which would help to promote the development of surrounding areas.

(Source: ebrun)

Comments are closed.